This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet-capable device.


Scott Trevelyan, Bee'n a Tough Day Honey!, 2011.
Scott Trevelyan, Bee'n a Tough Day Honey!, 2011.

AART.BOXX is a national survey exhibition of current visual arts practices by Australian artists with disability. The exhibition aims to extend and challenge discourses within contemporary art by highlighting art practices informed by cultures of disability.

The exhibition examines the works of artists who have arrived at making art from multiple in-roads. Some artists’ work from supported studios, whilst others are self taught or have followed mainstream career pathways.

"I only really ever had a very basic understanding of what access is and over the time I’ve been involved with AART.BOXX, I've realised how expansive an issue it actually is. There is so much to it on both a social and artistic level that needs to be explored and reconsidered." 

Hugh Nichols committee member 2009


Page 1 of 6  > >>

Framing Gravity

Framing Gravity
is the 5th edition of the AART.BOXX project. The exhibition is presented by Accessible Arts and held at SCA Gallery, Sydney College of the Arts, the University of Sydney. Since its inception in 2006, AART.BOXX has become a significant national project and exhibition series with a focus on recent works by Australian visual artists with disability.Framing Gravity, the title of this years AART.BOXX exhibition, has been drawn from the wide-ranging creative and material concerns offered by selected artists as well as the social frame of disability in which the exhibition is set. The exhibition features artists working across a range of mediums including spoken word, works on paper, textiles, video and sculpture.

Artists selected for Framing Gravity are eligible for a $4000 professional development scholarship. Whilst highlighting excellence in contemporary visual arts, this award serves to further the career opportunities of the winning artist. The recipient of the AART.BOXX scholarship will be announced at the opening night of the exhibition.


Opening Night Artist Talks and Auslan Tour


James Ackhurst, Clarrice Collien, Georgia Cranko, John Demos, Joceline Lee, Kevin Meagher, Ana Nguyen, Lisa Reid, Kristy Sweeney, Scott Trevelyan, Carla Wherby, Steven Worrell, Bowman Yu & Red Day at the Cake Factory.

Georgia CrankoJohn DemosAna NguyenBowman YuRed Day at the Cake Factory

Lisa ReidJoceline LeeSteven WorrellKristy Sweeney

Carla WherbyScott TrevelyanJames AckhurstKevin MeagherClarrice Collien


Exhibition dates
21 October – 5 November 2011

Opening night
20 October 2011, 6:00 – 8:00pm
The exhibition will be opened by Glenn Barkley, Curator, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sydney followed by a performance by Georgia Cranko.
Auslan interpreted

SCA Gallery
Sydney College of the Arts
The University of Sydney
Balmain Road (enter opposite Cecily Street)
Rozelle NSW 2039

Gallery hours
Mon - Fri 11:00am - 5:00pm  Sat 11:00am - 4:00pm

Access & Getting There
Wheelchair access SCA Gallery is a fully accessible venue, public transport and limited accessible visitor parking available. Bookings essential.

Open Captioning All video works are captioned

Braille version of exhibition catalogue available at the gallery

Exhibition Catalogue

Framing Gravity Exhibition Catalogue (PDF, 1MB)Download Framing Gravity Exhibition Catalogue (PDF, 1MB)


Public Programs

Bookings essential for all public programs.


A committee of creative producers drive the artistic direction of AART.BOXX. This collective comprises artists, arts workers and creative thinkers with and without disability. The committee aims to function as a hub for critical debate and discussion on the nexus between art and disability in visual arts. The sustained commitment of committee members encourages a responsive approach at every stage of exhibition development. Facilitated by Accessible Arts, the creative committee is an integral part of the AART.BOXX process, as it aims to develop and support future leaders in inclusive arts practice.

AART.BOXX 11 Committee members: Nicholas Kelly, Helen Machalias, Jessica Miller, Tony Nicholas, Diana Robson, Rebecca Scrioli, Rhea Shortus, Jennifer Stockings and Carolyn Teo.

Meet the committee members and view their introductory videos with Auslan translation.

Partners & Supporters

NSW GovernmentSydney College of the Arts logoHawkesbury Regional GalleryHawkesbury City CouncilAvant Card

Further information

Contact Josie Cavallaro, Arts Development Officer on tel: 02 9251 6499 ext 105 or email

Past Exhibitions